top of page

Where in the world am I going?


When I tell people I am going to China, the first thing I am asked is "when do you leave?" and the next, "where in China will you be going?"

I will be leaving Canada, from Toronto, on Friday May 12 and flying to Hong Kong. I will arrive at the airport in Hong Kong at about 1:00pm local time. From there, I will be taking a ferry to mainland China, to my first stop: Zhuhai City.

Zhuhai is located on the south-eastern coast of China's Guangdong province. It is a fairly tropical city, with temperatures above 25 degrees on most days. Zhuhai is also known for being one of the most environmentally sustainable cities in China, and is reportedly one of the most livable cities in the world.

While I am in Zhuhai, I will be studying at the Beijing Normal University in Zhuhai City (BNUZ). After doing some research, I learned that "normal" universities were originally established in China during the early part of the 20th century with the goal of training students to become teachers. Since then, many normal universities have transformed into comprehensive schools and these days a normal university is one that is funded by the government. Beijing Normal University (BNU) was the first normal university to be established in 1902. In 2001, BNU partnered with the Zhuhai municipal government to create Beijing Normal University in Zhuhai (BNUZ). Today, there are more that 20 000 full-time undergraduate students studying at BNUZ.

BNUZ has a huge campus, that spans over 850 acres of land. It is surrounded by gorgeous scenery, located at the foot of Phoenix mountain and surrounded by lakes, forests and hills. Apparently it takes about half an hour just to walk from one side of campus to the other, but luckily there are trolleys that drive around campus and can drop you off at specific locations. While at BNUZ, I will be living in a studio-style apartment, with my own bathroom and washing machine! The university also has excellent sport facilities including an outdoor pool, two soccer fields and a huge indoor gym. When it comes to food, there are three main cafeterias on campus, as well as some supermarkets and cafes/restaurants.

Saint Mary's has had a partnership with BNUZ since its founding, and it is because of this partnership that I have the opportunity to study at BNUZ. While a BNUZ, I will be assigned a "language partner" to help me navigate the different culture and show me around the city. What is really cool about our language partners this year is that they are part of a special program as well. In the fall of 2017, SMU will be offering a new program to students at BNUZ. The idea is that, after completing 2 years of study at BNUZ, students enrolled in the program will come to Halifax to complete the final 2 years of their degree at Saint Mary's. This spring, my language partner will help me learn about China, and in the fall we will meet again and I will teach them all about Canada!

I am so excited for this experience, and can't wait to keep sharing my journey! Stay tuned.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page